It feels like me.

August 5, 2008 at 9:15 am 5 comments

I’ve been a blogger for many, many years now.  I was bloggin’ away before it was even cool to blog.  But, in my near-decade long span of blogging, I’ve never had a blog that has felt more like “me”.

My first blogs were full of your typical teenage agnst.  But it always felt somewhat forced.  I was writing what I thought people my age should be writing about.  My next blogs all revolved around Jose and how much I loved him.  Obsession is more like it.  I would write a bazillion entries in one week professing my love for Jose and blab about how much sex we had and how much I missed him (he worked out of town). 

I dropped off the blogging radar for a while, and when I came back, and it was all about my kids.  Birth stories, accomplishments, milestones, pictures galore!  It was anything and everything about Olivia and Isabel.

Now, I’m not saying any of the above are bad themes for a blog.  But I never felt free to let loose and shine through, you know what I mean?  I always felt CONFINED to talking about such topics or else I would feel as if I were straying away from the real purpose of the blog.

When I started up El Sueno, I just wanted a blog.  I missed blogging and wanted somewhere to call home.  Mainly, I wanted somewhere to blog about my life married to a Mexican. 

But, I soon realized, that gave me almost free reign!!  I can blog about our life together, I can blog about my daily going-ons, I can blog about my kids, I can blog about current events that interest me, I can blog about cultural differences, movies, music, jokes…

And the list goes on.

Most importantly, I can blog about ME! 

One of these days, I’ll get brave and post the link to my blog back in 2001, when me and Jose first started dating.

I was real original.  I named the damned thing “I LOVE JOSE”.  🙂

Adios.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Some updates on Caylee Anthony Mexican Food

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan  |  August 5, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Hi! I know what you mean. I used to have many blogs, probably still do, out there and MOST of them just focused on me and Daniel.

    I had one called Honduras Heartache lol!

    I think this is the LONGEST I’ve ever been blogging though. Many times I would create a blog but feel “confined” just as you described and would stop blogging.

    Now I know that I don’t have to just stick to ONE thing, I can blog about ANYTHING that is interesting to ME.

    (After all it is OUR blogs, right?)

    ~Megan 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Ojos Verdes  |  August 5, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Well, I am really new to blogging -just started OJOS VERDES this summer. I have no idea how to do all the fancy stuff that some of you amigas con latinos put on yours- photos, images, stuff that moves….I need someone to show me.

    Reply
  • 3. ~Jenn;0)  |  August 5, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    I just really started blogging this past month or so! I LOVE it, I feel very comforatable here, and I am really glad I am making new friends! I am tryin hard to get my sister to start one…she wants to, but she doesn’t think it will do well…she is one of the funniest most down to Earth people you could ever meet and I keep tellin her about all of you…I think she might be gettin sick of hearing about it! Oh well, I listen to her about her Flickr friends all the time, so it’s time for me to collect! HA! 😉

    AWE Liz…that’s too funny what you named that blog….is it still up? I can’t wait to read the stuff you used to write about! This should be good!:)

    ~Jenn;0)

    Reply
  • 4. lizzi33  |  August 5, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    Meg – LOL, this is the longest I’ve been blogging, too, and its only been 5 months. 🙂

    Ojos Verdes – Lisa seems to have the whole Blogger thing down pat! I bet she could help you out! 🙂

    Jenn – LOL, I tell my husband about you guys ALL THE TIME. I bet he’s sick of hearing about my internet friends. 🙂 I love the new friends I’ve made on this blog though!! You gals are awesome.

    Reply
  • 5. Lisa  |  August 6, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Awwwe, I’m really glad that you feel so free now. Sometimes I feel like I go ‘off topic’ but you’re right … if it belongs to you, why not? Lots of people say that blogs should stick to one topic but, personally, if I read someone’s blog its because that person interests me. So I like to read about whatever is going on their life.

    LMAO! I don’t have the whole Blogger thing down pat but I try. That was too funny when I read that in your comment Mrs. ESA 🙂

    Happy Blogging! (And keep it up!) God knows I’d miss ya if ya didn’t blog 🙂

    ~Lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 201,113 hits
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

My tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


