Luck!

August 2, 2008 at 4:59 pm 5 comments

Its a miracle!  I actually had a small stroke of luck today!

I’m all settled in to my new schedule.  Today it was 6:30am, and I was up and at ’em!  Holy cow… I’ve never been such an early riser.  By 8am, the girls and Jose were up to, so we all got dressed and started running errands. 

First stop:  US Cellular.  We paid the cell phone bill, checked out some new phones (waaay too much money!) and looked at a used phone for Rigo.  Then, we headed across the street for breakfast at the Golden Corral.  Mmmm…  that was a very, very good breakfast!! 

We then headed to Wal-Mart to cash our checks (Jose couldn’t believe they only charge $3.00 – anywhere in South Omaha would have charged him more than $10!) and then to turn in the cable boxes to the cable company.  That’s when we started our debate on which bank to open a bank account at.

As we were turning the corner on 24th and L, there was someone dancing around in a rabbit costume.  I remembered the local radio station (Radio Lobo) was doing a promotion at the credit union there.  I told Jose he should just open the account there while me and the girls enjoyed all the free stuff!!  😀

The girls met a police officer, who gave them coloring books and a sticker.  She also gave them each a bottle of water, attatched to a long strap.  The police officer gave me DNA kits and explained to me how to use them to protect the girls.  Olivia then got her arm painted.  After the lady went to the trouble of cleaning her dirty face (LoL, talk about embarrassing!  But she was eating red jelly beans in the car and had made a mess) Olivia decided she’d rather just have the balloons painted on her arm.  Isabel, of course, didn’t want anything to do with the face painting!!

As we were finishing up, I hear a lady call, “Guera!!  Ven para aca!”  and (naturally!) I looked up.  The people from the radio station were calling for me!  🙂  The male DJ knows me from when I used to work at the bank, and the lady knows me from Ladies’ Night at the Guacamaya.  We chatted a little bit and I signed up to win tickets for the dance.  (Los Angeles De Charly!!)

I went in the bank then to see Jose, and the DJ came in a chatted some more with us, teasing Jose for being so short yet being from Los Altos, Jalisco.  (Jose is not from Los Altos, he is from Lagos De Moreno, but anyways…)  And then the DJ told me to follow him outside.  They just decided to give me the tickets!!! 

YAY!!!  I got a pass for two people, and these tickets are going for $30 a piece.  🙂  I’m very excited!  I know this place is going to be SUPER PACKED, though.  We’ll have to get there early! 

The rest of the afternoon has been kind of eventful.  I made a trip to the thrift store and bought three shirts and a VHS movie for the girls.  We also went to the Dollar General where I bought Fabuloso, popsicles, sun flower seeds, laundry soap, and a Pepsi.  😀

I think I’m going to iron Jose’s jeans for him, while I try to decide what I’m going to wear. 

Bye Bye!!  Have a wonderful Saturday everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

A joke I received in my e-mail… Mondays…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ~Jenn;0)  |  August 2, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Hey, do me a favor and have some fun for me too will ya?! 😛

    Reply
  • 2. Megan  |  August 3, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    OMG! Go you! Have a GREAT time!

    You had QUITE the lucky day!

    (and like Jenn said above, have some fun for me as well!)

    Dance the night away! 😀

    Reply
  • 3. Lisa  |  August 4, 2008 at 4:21 am

    You lucky thang you! That is luck. I don’t think that would happen to me in a million years 🙂

    Well I think you guys deserve a night out to have fun and unwind since you’ve joined the ranks of the working class again; celebrate!

    Have fun and dance a song or two for me 🙂

    ~Lisa

    Reply
  • 4. lizzi33  |  August 4, 2008 at 10:45 am

    Well, I don’t know if I had enough fun for all four of us girls, but I did have a pretty good time!! 😀 Thanks for commenting everyone!

    Reply
  • 5. Susan  |  August 4, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Dang you have all the luck. Glad you had a good time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 201,113 hits
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

My tweets


