Story telling…

July 30, 2008 at 10:06 am 2 comments

I feel like telling a story.  🙂  This isn’t the best one, but it is something I enjoy remembering… 

As I’ve mentioned quite a few times on this blog, we spent July/August 2007 in Mexico.  “We” being me and the girls; Jose had to stay here and work.

We weren’t 100% sure that we were going until the day before we left.  We were invited down there for the quinceañera (15th birthday party) of his neice, Daniela.  This party was going to be HUGE.  Jose was one of the padrinos of the group and I was the madrina of the ultima muneca. 

Anyways, one week Jose would decide that yes, we were in fact going for the party. The next week he would change his mind.  His brothers were getting rather irritated, because they wanted to buy things to send to their families. 

My suegra had been collecting stuff to take with her for over a year by that time.  Clothings, small appliances, shoes, perfumes, home decor, etc. etc.  I, also, had been gathering up stuff that I might usually have tossed out or donated.  I had quite the collection of childrens’ clothing and shoes, toys, clothing Jose and myself no longer wore, jackets, coats… The whole nine yards.

LoL, the best part is, Jose had no idea of our plans to take all this stuff with us.  On the morning of our departure, when I told him to make sure to leave room for his mom’s stuff, he looked at me like I was crazy.

When his brother showed up a few moments later with his truck crammed packed with trash bags full of all of her goodies, he about had a panic attack.

And then when I brought up my personal collection of stuff I wanted to take, I thought he was going to cry.

Believe it or not, though, everything fit into the back of our pickup truck.  EVERYTHING.  The only thing we had to leave behind was Chavela’s bicycle.  And Olivia’s stroller.  But I’m not sure if I forgot the stroller or if it didn’t fit…

Just as we were pulling out of our parking lot, Sergio pulled up with the bicycles that he had just bought at Wal-Mart for his kids.  So, we had to stop, untie the tarp, and rearrange the entire contents of the back of the truck, but we made sure his bicycles were packed safely. 

It was a long, long, LONG drive to Jalisco.  Especially with a car sick toddler that was puking every half hour (and was giggling and playing between puking episodes).  It was one funky smelling truck by the time we made it to Jalisco.  The only damage to all of our precious cargo was a paper grocery sack full of t-shirts my mom had given me got a little soaked.  But it was raining cats and dogs in Monterrey!

Once we arrived, we unpacked just our luggage and some of the girls’ toys.  The next morning, however, the fun started.

Me and my suegra laid out old blankets on the cement floor of her patio early that morning.  On top of the blankets, we emptied out the entire contents of the back of the truck.  Everything.  Some of the piles were a good three or four feet tall! 

Then, my suegra told all of the neighbors and all of the relatives in the area to stop by.  It was only 10am at this point, and the small patio was soon FULL!  It was a madhouse.

Ladies were grabbing stuff from the piles as fast as they could.  I quickly realized that making sure the item fit was a must for them in order to take an item.  Ladies were trying things in the bedroom and bathroom.  Soon a line had formed at the door to both rooms.  If the item didn’t fit, it was passed to the next person in line and so on and so forth.

Mom’s were trying clothing on the kids right there in the patio.  Shoes, shorts, shirts, dresses, pants, overalls, etc.  They were also grabbing flannel shirts, jeans, and work boots for their husbands. 

Kids were fighting over toys.  To keep the peace and to keep the kids happy, I was pulling out the toys I had brought for the girls and distributing them out among the children.

By around noon, the commotion had died down.  I will never, as long as I live, forget all of the happy faces as those ladies walked home with their new treasures.  It was amazing and very rewarding to walk around the ranchoduring the next couple of months and see people wearing these items and kids playing with those toys.  At the quinceañera that weekend, most of the ladies that weren’t madrinas were actually wearing outfits from our collection.  🙂 

I had never experienced real poverty until our trip to Mexico.  Yeah, we’re not rich.  Not even close to it.  But we always have clean clothes, food on the table, and a roof over our heads. 

En el rancho, little kids would wear shoes with the toes cut out because they had outgrown them.  Parents would go hungry so their kids wouldn’t go to bed with empty tummies.  Simple things that most of us take for granted here were delicacies to those children, such as candy bars and cans of soda or trips to the movie theater.  We went to the Wal-Mart in Leon once, and spent a good 3 hours there.  Sipriano (Jose’s brother) and his wife were simply amazed at all the Wal-Mart sold! 

I know this was long and probably boring, but I just really felt like sharing with you guys. 

See you all later!  Take care!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

I’m okay with my whiteness now… Caylee Anthony

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brenda  |  July 30, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    i feel ya alberto (my dh) just recently added on to our lil shed in the back yard to hold alll the stuff he will not let me get rid of its always we’ll take it to mexico….i just hope it all fits in the van when we do finally go…hearing him talk of the days back home makes me realize how good we do have it here and learn to appreciate every lil thing we do have which isnt much….

    Reply
  • 2. lizzi33  |  July 30, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Thanks for commenting, Brenda. 🙂

    LoL, good luck in getting it all into the van!! People will sure love you guys for it! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 201,128 hits
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

My tweets


