My little man…

July 7, 2008 at 8:57 pm 10 comments

Before I met Jose, I had this mental image of Mexican guys being short, dark, and wearing super tight blue jeans.  Its kind of funny that that is exactly what Jose looked like when I met him!  We’ve done away with the tight blue jeans since them days.  And I’ve also done away with that sterotypical image of Mexican dudes.  Jose is actually the one of a few really short Mexicans I know.  All of his cousins are over six feet tall.  His brothers are all at least as tall as I am (5’7”), if not a little taller.  Most Mexicans mistake Jose for someone from Guatemala or El Salvador, due to his littleness and very dark skin.  😀  LoL, to sum up a paragraph that is starting to get rather long, Mexican people come in all shapes and sizes just like white people!

Anyways…

When we met, he went by the nickname “chaparro” (shorty).  Me, the guera with no understanding of Spanish whatsoever, just assumed that it was his name.  I think for the first six months or so I called him “Chap-a-row” (my Guera-ized pronunciation).

Here are some pics of my wonderful (but sooo annoying) husband:

 

little man

I was 17 there (him 26) and it was my high school homecoming.  LoL, that pic was somewhat famous in my Spanish class!  It spent many a Friday afternoon getting passed around and giggled at by myself and my classmates. 

And here’s a shot from our church wedding ceremony.  This was in March.  (Me 23 and Jose now 32)

 

 

 

wedding

Memories…  🙂 

Here’s another pic of us homecoming goers.  You should recognize the girl on the opposite end of the table from us as Diana, my BFF.  😀

homecoming

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Oh say can you see… Quick update…

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan  |  July 7, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    Aww what a nice blog post! You guys are SUCH an adorable couple! And you guys always look so happy!

    Cele is short too hehe but I adore him <3, but the shortest Mexican that I have dated was my ex-novio, I was 5’6 and he was 5’3 or maybe — I don’t quite remember, all I know is that he was SHORT! 😀

    Great post!

    ~Megita :o)

    Reply
  • 2. Ojos Verdes  |  July 7, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    I have yet to meet a Mexican man who is tall. Everyone I have met, including my own novio, Mexicano, es BAJITO (y adorable).

    Reply
  • 3. lizzi33  |  July 7, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Meg – Jose is 5’0”. We get stares all the time, especially since I’ve started wearing shoes with a heel on ’em! 🙂 I was very anti-heel for the first 5 years of our relationship, then I figured what the heck! He’s still shorter then me! I might as well wear the shoes I like! =D How tall is Cele?

    Ojos Verdes – LoL, my opinion of tall has been skewed since being with Jose. Tall is over 5’5” now, where once it would have been over six foot. Thanks for commenting!! 🙂 I think the shortness is very adorable as well.

    Reply
  • 4. Megan  |  July 8, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Hmm Cele is a few inches shorter than me, I don’t know for sure. Maybe I will once I see his I.D. if his height is on there? haha

    Yes! PLEASE send me an email regarding that! I’d appreciate it and maybe something could jump out at me regarding Cele!

    My email is meganroberta@yahoo.com!

    Good luck on your interview too! I hope we will BOTH we working soon! Yay!!!!! 😀

    Reply
  • 5. Susan  |  July 10, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    I guess I found a tall Mexicano. He is 5’10 perfect for my 5’3. You guys are adorable. I love my mexican men. They are yummy. WHat they say about latino heat is so true. Hot in the head and hot in the bed. Yayayaya

    Reply
  • 6. Megan  |  July 10, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Yupppers! Gotta agree with Susan regarding the Latin heat. ;o)

    Reply
  • 7. Lisa  |  July 11, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Ohhhh … how adorable. I love the pics. It’s funny because even though you are a good bit taller than Jose, you guys really look like you belong together.

    It’s a good match!

    ~Lisa 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Jenn;0)  |  July 18, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Oh thank God…I’m not the only one!!! LOL!!! Hector (mi Mexicano!) is 5’2′ and I am 5’8″…BIG difference, he is just smaller than me no matter how ya look at it!!! I did the same as lizzi33 for (just like she said) those first 5 years, not wearing shoes with heels!! Too funny! Good to know I’m not alone here!

    ~Jenn;0)

    Reply
  • 9. Jenn;0)  |  July 18, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Oh and all of his friends still do call him Chaparo (SP?)!! I’ve always called him by him by his real name though!

    Reply
  • 10. lizzi33  |  July 24, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Jen – LoL some of Jose’s friends still call him chaparro, too! 🙂 Sometimes when I’m feeling silly I call him my chaparrito. 🙂 He has an aunt that calls him her chaparrito de oro!! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 201,100 hits
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

My tweets


