Oh say can you see…

July 5, 2008 at 10:28 am 5 comments

We did not make it to see Grupo Control on Thursday night.  😦  I tried and I tried, but Jose would not budge.  We came to some very nice compromises, though.  We went to the bar right behind our apartment complex that night.  I was pretty impressed.   I had no idea they had a full menu nor did I know it was a huge as it is in there!!  I had a couple of drinks (they’re not priced too bad, either!) and Jose had a BBQ cheeseburger.  He said it was really good!

Yesterday morning, we drove to Rockport, Missouri (a little over an hour) so we could smuggle back some good old, illegal fireworks!  That’s a HUGE compromise on his part, because he hates fireworks and thinks they are a big waste of money.  We spent $60, while my suegra spent $80!!  LoL, I couldn’t believe she spent so much on fireworks. 

We spent the afternoon at my mom’s house.  She had BBQ ribs, cheesey potatoes, and hot dogs.  Jose made a little carne asada. 

Around 8pm, we took off from there, and went over to my suegra’s house.  She had caldo de camarron!  Ewww… I am so not a sea food person.  Jose enjoyed it, though!  We started lighting off fireworks around 9pm (we being me, Rigo, and Omar) and by the time Jose brought us home (11ish) they still had tons of fireworks left!  There were a fewerrors in judgement.  Like when one of the huge rockets broke off the stick, and Jose thought he could tie it back on.  When he lit it, it fell onto the street below and zoomed right at the neighbors house and exploded under their car!!  Yikes!

Isabel was not having anything to do with the fireworks.  She was inside, watching cartoons!  Every so often she would stick her head out the front door to check to see if we were still lighting fireworks, and then SLAM would go the door. 

Olivia was outside with us, but hiding under a table!  🙂

No one was injured, Thank God.  My suegra’s boyfriend was burnt kind of bad by a sparkler (of all things!).  LoL, I think next year the illegal fireworks can stay in Missouri.  I was a nervous wreck all night watching Rigo light off the rockets!

When we left, the huge fireworks show at the baseball stadium had JUST started, so we got a pretty cool view of that the whole way home.  I’ll post some pics a little later!

Bye!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Job Search and dance info… My little man…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  July 6, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Awwwe, sorry you didn’t get to go see el grupo. I know you really wanted to go but at least Jose did take you out, that’s good.

    I had to giggle because I got burnt lighting a sparkler!

    My thumb had a blister that popped up on the side of it and popped, GROSS. The nasty lil booger hurts too. I’m glad you guys had a fun & safe 4th LoL (hope the neighbor didn’t see the rocket under their car)

    ~Lisa

    Reply
  • 2. lizzi33  |  July 7, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    OUCH! I bet that hurt like heck!!

    LoL, when he took me out, I was pouting over the whole no dance thing, so I didn’t really enjoy myself. 🙂 That’s what I get for being a baby!!

    Reply
  • 3. Mandy  |  July 8, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    So sorry you didn’t get to go see them. I know the disappointment. My favorite group is Los Tigres Del Norte and I did not get to go when they came either.

    Which groupos have you seen?
    I have seen: Los Tucanes de Tijuana, Los Montez del Durango,and K-Paz de la Sierra.

    Look for a post on those soon.

    Reply
  • 4. Mandy  |  July 8, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    ps: Carlos is Honduran and the exact same height as me. Yeah! I still don’t wear heels,though. He never says a word about it but it makes me feel weird if I am taller than he is. I live in flip flops so he and I are the same height!

    Reply
  • 5. lizzi33  |  July 10, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Mandy – I LOVE the Tigres Del Norte!!!

    I’ve seen: Montez De Durango, Alacranes Musical, Banda Machos, La Arrolladora Banda El Limon, Sonora Dinamita, and Banda Toro. 🙂 Almost all of those was while I was in Mexico!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 201,132 hits
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

My tweets


