New to WordPress…

April 18, 2008 at 2:45 pm 1 comment

I’m new to the whole WordPress world…  not so new to the blogging thing.  I’ve been blogging since junior high, way back before it was even cool to blog.  I wish I had some links to those old blogs of mine, as I’m sure they’d be a frickin’ hoot to read.  But, I’d always say a little too much, get all nervous about someone finding me, and delete the blog.

Anyways…

I’m 23 years old.  I live in the pretty lame state of Nebraska.  I’ve been married to my husband for almost 5 years, and we have two kids together.  I was working as a waitress at a family friendly chain restaurant but it sucked pretty bad and the money was horrible.  So, I’m currently a stay at home mom. 

My girls are 4 and 2.  They did speak Spanish only, but over the last six months or so, the Spanish has been forgotten and we’ve moved on to almost all English.  Its pretty amazing, actually, since at home no one ever really speaks to them in English.  Noggin and Moose A. Moose have done a job well done.  My husband has went from “Papi” to “Daddy”, “Abuelita” is now “Grandma”.  When we go to my mother-in-law’s house (who will now forth be known as “Suegra” in this blog), she just nods and smiles when they talk to her in English.  We’re trying to create a balance, where English speaking is maintained, but where Spanish is not forgotten, either.  We’ll be working on it…

I’ve been born and raised here in Omaha.  It wasn’t until I met my husband that I started to travel to other parts of the country.  He’s taken me to Chicago, Texas, Arizona, California, and we’ve also traveled to Mexico twice.  This summer, me and the girls spent over a month at his home town in Mexico.  It was a blast, and I can’t wait to do it again.

I guess I’ve rambled on more than enough….  Thanks for listening!!

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Back to waitressing…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  April 21, 2008 at 5:24 am

    Oh I know you’re having fun with the language thing. My 9 yr. old was abducted by his father and taken to Mexico for 4 yrs. When I got him back … he spoke pure Spanish so we had to teach him English. (this is how I know what I’m gonna say)

    Research has shown that young children often associate language with location, which is why is pretty easy for school age kids to speak Spanish at home and English at school.

    So, in a nutshell, if you speak Spanish in certain locations your kids will pick up on it. My kids still speak pure Spanish every time we go to their uncle’s house.

    Good luck! lol

    -Lisa 🙂

    P.S. Love the name of your blog too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 201,100 hits
April 2008
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

My tweets


